As a Boca Raton firm we boast to visitors and out-of-State friends alike that we have “endless summer” weather. It seems that all year round we are commute, scoot, and drive with our windows down whenever possible. Some motorists prefer to be as close that experience by operating a motorcycle.
“SEM Law Group-Law is it a requirement to wear a helmet while operating a motorcycle in Florida?”
If we were transported back to June 30th, 2000, the answer would be a resounding yes. However, back on July 1st, 2000 the current Florida motorcycle equipment statue 316.211 became the law of the land and has complicated the answer to our reader’s question. Since the revision of Florida statue 316.211, helmet requirements for motorcyclists in the state of Florida were relaxed with a couple of caveats. The current version of FL statue 316.211 requires all motorcycle operators between the ages of 16 and 21 to wear a helmet. If you are a motorcycle passenger, i.e. the person not operating the motorcycle, and you are 16 years old or older, you are not required to wear a helmet. Conversely, if you are a person 21 years of age or older you may operate a motorcycle without wearing protective headgear securely fastened upon your head only if you are covered by an insurance policy providing at least $10,000 in medical benefits for injuries incurred as a result of a crash while operating or riding on your motorcycle. It is important to note that PIP insurance on your car may not include the $10,000 required for medical payment insurance. You should contact your insurance agency
We at SEM Law Group-Law encourage our Delray friends always to wear a DOT certified helmet and carry insurance while they operate their motorcycle. Do you have any questions for the SEM Law Group-Law team? Let us know! We always offer free consultations and want to help you.