If you are reading this, there is a high probability that you are from the State of Florida and are here to learn more about Florida’s convoluted law regarding PIP insurance which is required to operate a vehicle. However, it is best to determine how PIP insurance relates to you specifically by speaking to one of our auto accident attorneys.
There has been a lot of news lately regarding PIP insurance changes. PIP laws were changed back in 2012. The old system, according to many insurance companies, was full of flaws and pressured Florida lawmakers to change the old system. The new PIP insurance system been fully enacted and now we see the results of the changes in the law.
This new system defines many what was seen as ambiguous areas of the law. Now an individual in the auto accident has 14 days, two weeks, to seek medical treatment from the specified licensed medical physician. Medical physicians listed specifically are: physician, osteopath, dentist, physician’s assistant or registered nurse practitioner. Also, it must be noted that the first visit to the physician constitutes as the visit during the 14 day window and all injuries must be reported during the first visit. If you find an injury that causes complications during the second visit PIP insurance will not apply even if you visit your physician on day 12 after the accident. If you have found yourself in an auto accident that you have been injured, you may want to seek the help of a Florida auto accident attorney in order to sort out the complicated law.
Also, apart of the changes to the PIP law was the change in how much PIP would pay up to for medical related bills. Under the old law, you would be covered up to 10,000 for medical bills. However, now PIP will cover up to $2500 in medical bills for non-emergency medical conditions. If the accident caused emergency related injuries the PIP law has not changed where up to 10,000 of medical costs related will be covered.
Unfortunately, $2500 may not go far enough even if the injury sustained was not deemed of an emergency condition. This is when a free consultation with one of our experienced auto accident lawyers will be invaluable. You should not have to pay for an injury you sustained in an accident that was not your fault.
One last thought, if you should be struck by a car as a pedestrian and if you own a car you will be covered under the PIP law through your insurance policy. If you have any further questions or concerns about PIP laws or an auto accident, please consult with our auto accident attorneys who specialize in Florida PIP law. Call Now For Your Free Consultation: (561) 939-8042