There are many questions you may have if you have suffered a personal injury through no fault of your own. Bills may be piling up as you are unable to work, or you may just be suffering from pain that makes your day-to-day activities harder. Whatever the injury, if someone else was at fault, you may be entitled to compensation for your medical bills and lost wages. In order to receive this compensation, you must follow the statute of limitations. In other words, you must file your lawsuit within a specified timeframe, which can vary from state to state.
Florida Statute of Limits for Personal Injury Claims After an Accident
In Florida, there is a limit of four years from the date of the accident during which you can file your personal injury claim. This means that if you wait to file a claim outside of that four-year limitation, the judge has the right to refuse to hear your case.
Exceptions to the Statute of Limits
There are a few exceptions to this rule that may cause a judge to increase the amount of time in which your case can be heard. One of these exceptions is if the injuries from your accident take longer than four years to manifest. This can happen if you are exposed to an undesirable chemical, such as asbestos, which may take years to show any negative effect. Under this type of circumstance, the judge may rule that your case be heard even if the four-year limit has passed.
Another exception is that of medical malpractice. Medical malpractice falls under a different set of laws than other personal injuries. If you know about the malpractice when it happens, you have four years in which to file a lawsuit. If you do not discover the issue until later, you have two years from the date you discover your injury.
Unique Rules About Car Accidents
After a car accident, it is important you be seen by a medical professional within 14 days of the accident. After 14 days, the insurance company can refuse to cover your medical claims. This can affect your ability to receive compensation for your injuries through a personal injury lawsuit.
Our Top Lawyers Help You Navigate the Personal Injury Claims Process, So You Receive the Compensations You’re Entitled To
We can help you determine if you have a claim and are within the statute of limitations. Call us today at 561-939-8042 for a personal injury attorney in Boca Raton.